Pangil, Laguna is a fourth class municipality with a population of 23,421 people in 4,160 households according to the 2007 Census.
Pangil was founded in 1579 by two Franciscan missionaries. The town's name is believed to have come from three coincidental circumstances: One historical version was that it was named after the fang of a wild boar called "Pangil" in the vernacular; another version accounts to the first native inhabitants of the place called "Pangilagan"; and the third version relates about the place being once dominated by the first pre-Spanish chieftain named Gat Paguil. (Source: Wikipedia)
In 1611, the residents of Pangli constructed a church made from adobe stones and Nuestra Señora de Natividad became its patron saint. However, local devotees preferred to call their saint “Señora de la O” or “Virgen de la O.” A massive earthquake in 1880 destroyed the church so it was reconstructed in 1884. The church was again destryoyed in 1945 when the American Air Force dropped bombs in the town. At present, the reconstructed church is called Our Lady's Nativity Parish Church.
Pangil Presidencia or Pangil Municpal Hall
A street in Pangil, Laguna - notice the De La'O Rural Bank named after the Virgen de La'O.
Pangil is home of the "Hidden Falls" or "Buntot Palos Falls" as it is locally called. Buntot Palos Falls (Eel's Tail Falls) may be reached by hiking through Piit Resort, now renamed as Pangil River Eco Park.