"In 1860, the parishioners of Calauan built a church made of bricks and stone to honor its patron saints San Isidro Labrador and San Roque. Doña Eleuteria Punzalan financed its construction, while Don Paulino Gavino Oliva donated the church bell in 1867 (By Gil Miranda, A Laguna Travelogue)."
San Isidro Labrador is the patron saint of farmers. The Parish Church is located at the town center of Calauan, Laguna. Like other towns planned during the Spanish colonization period, the church was the center of the town's life. The Liceo de Calauan school is just beside the church and at present, the public market is located acroos the church. Instead of religious items or items for kids, stall vendors of pineapple, the town's signature crop, are outside the church walls or near the church's vicinity.