Strict Standards: Declaration of Archiver::DoAction() should be compatible with CMSModule::DoAction($name, $id, $params, $returnid = '') in /home/tidon3/public_html/lagunatravelguide/modules/Archiver/Archiver.module.php on line 0
Laguna Travel Guide - San Pablo City

San Pablo City

San Pablo City welcome arc

During the pre-Spanish colonial period, San Pablo was a village called “Sampalok” or tamarind, "a tropical evergreen tree that bears pods containing an edible acid pulp." On the other hand, early Spanish missionaries called the village San Pablo Delos Montes which literally means Saint Paul of the mountain. San Pablo was officially declared as a town in 1647 by the Spanish governement.

San Pablo City church at the plaza

At present, San Pablo City is a first-class city in Laguna, Philippines. San Pablo City is situated on the foothills of Mount Cristobal and Mount Banahaw. It is also located 82 kilometers southeast of Metro Manila. It is the largest municipality in Laguna province with a land area of 21,400 hectares.

San Pablo City center

SM or "Sa Mangga," a famous landmark in San Pablo City; it is located at the city center or plaza

Although it is a city with many business establishments, San Pablo City retains much of its rural communites. San Pablo City is widely known as "The City of Seven Lakes" because of its seven crater lakes - Sampaloc, Palakpakin, Yambo, Bunot, Pandin, Muhikap, and Calibato. San Pablo's lakes are important to the city's eco-tourism industry and its economy. For so many years, they have provided livelihood and leisure activites to the city's residents as well as tourists.

Go to Towns and Cities main page

Go to Home page